Search
Return to get started buttonReturn to get started button
Print buttonPrint button

Resolving Problems and Errors

While completing an opportunity package in Workspace, you may encounter problems and receive occasional error messages. Below are examples of such scenarios -- along with tips on how to avoid them.

Error Messages

When a Workspace Participant action triggers an error, an alert message will appear – either at the top of the Manage Workspace page, or in a popup window. In most cases, the issue must be addressed before the desired action can be completed.

For example, if the workspace forms are out of date, you will see the following message when you try to complete a form-related action:

ALERT: The set of forms in the Opportunity Package was updated by the Grantor Agency. This change does not remove any forms from the Opportunity Package. Previously entered form data is preserved. Please click “Get Updated Grantor Package” button in the Workspace Actions to proceed.

Follow the directions outlined in the alert and you will be able to continue your action. If you receive a Cross-Form Errors message after clicking the Check Application button, refer to the Cross-Form Errors help article for more detailed information about this validation error.

Resolving Problems in Workspace

Below are a range of additional scenarios Workspace Participants may encounter while completing an application package using Workspace:

Workspace Owner Loses Access to Workspace

When a Workspace Owner loses access to a workspace, this prevents any further work in the workspace. However, Participants are still able to download existing form data from this workspace. Losing the Workspace Owner means the Submit, Complete, and Reopen buttons will all be deactivated.

How does a Workspace Owner lose access? There are several possible causes:

  1. The Workspace Owner's Grants.gov account can be deactivated due to inactivity (i.e., not logging in to Grants.gov for 365 days). This automated deactivation removes all of the user's roles.
  2. The Workspace Owner's account can be deactivated by an authorized user on the Manage Applicant page.
  3. An authorized user can revoke the Workspace Manager role from the Workspace Owner. To have Workspace Owner access, a user must have the Workspace Manager role, so removing the role also removes the Workspace Owner access from the user.

Workspace Submission Confirmation PDF Did Not Open

After submitting a workspace package, a PDF confirmation attempts to open in your internet browser. Depending on the internet browser settings for opening PDFs and your Adobe software version, this confirmation may not be able to open. Refer to the Adobe Software Compatibility page in the Applicants tab on Grants.gov for information on how to configure your browser settings to open PDFs using the appropriate Adobe software.

Opportunity Package Is Closed

When an opportunity package passes the closed date, Grants.gov no longer accepts submissions and prevents additional form uploads in the workspace. The grace period is used in conjunction with the closed date to define when an opportunity package is closed.

Once an opportunity package is closed, the form action links, as well as the Submit, Complete, and Reopen buttons, will be deactivated. Additionally, the package hyperlink is removed so that new workspaces cannot be created for the closed opportunity.

Opportunity Package Is Deleted

In some instances, the grant-making agency may need to delete an opportunity package. When the grantor deletes the opportunity package or the complete funding opportunity announcement, users can still download existing form data. However, they cannot continue further work in the workspace. As a result, the form actions links, as well as the Submit, Complete, and Reopen buttons, will be inactive.

If you subscribed to change notifications in step five of the Create a Workspace process, then you will be notified of the deletion. If you did not subscribe, then you will not be notified.

Opportunity Package Incompatible with Workspace

At any time prior to the close date of an opportunity, the grant-making agency can change the forms or other components of the opportunity package. In doing so, the grantor may change forms in the opportunity package to a new set of forms that are not compatible with Workspace. Thus, applicants will no longer be able to use a workspace for the grantor's opportunity package.

Users will still be able to download existing form data, but they cannot continue further work in the workspace. To continue to apply, users will need to return to the View Grant Opportunity page and download the PDF application package.

Opportunity Package Forms Changed

At any time prior to the close date of an opportunity, the grant-making agency can change the forms or other components of the opportunity package. In doing so, the grantor may change forms in the opportunity package to a different set of forms that are compatible with Workspace, but these forms are different than the forms you were previously completing.

In this scenario, users can download existing form data but cannot continue progress with the workspace until they click to update the forms list to the revised set in the opportunity package. Until you update the forms list, the form action links, as well as the Submit, Complete, and Reopen buttons, will not be active.

The forms update process will retain the data in forms that the grantor did not change. By updating the forms list in the opportunity package, the status of the workspace will change to In Progress. If you subscribed to change notifications in step five of the Create a Workspace process, then you will be notified of the deletion. If you did not subscribe, then you will not be notified.

 

Table of Contents

Index

Glossary

-Search-

Back